This blog is my way of keeping track of my progress towards financial independence.  A few years ago I started reading Mr. Money Mustache and getting into the idea of financial independence and retiring early (FIRE).  Now I’m really down the rabbit-hole about it.  Seriously.

I started this blog because I’m a total voyeur for people’s financial independence stories and progress.  I was reading everything I could find for about two years and suddenly it struck me that maybe people would be interested in following my own journey.

I’ll be talking about any and all topics that relate to achieving financial independence (FI).  Frugality, investing, physical health, emotional health, you name it.  I’ll also be giving juicy details about my own path to FI.

If you’re relatively new to the subject, you can check out my blogroll for some really great resources.  These guys and gals are the real deal.

If you are interested in gaming the system, opting out of mass-consumerism, and reaching financial independence, then please join the discussion!

About Me

My wife and I are both 30 years old (no kids… yet) and we want to be financially independent by 40.  Specifically, by February of 2025.  Our definition of FI is $600,000 in liquid assets and a paid off house.

I grew up fairly poor.  After my parents split up we were dirt poor (food stamps, free lunch in school, etc).  It was made clear to me that money for college was out of the question, so I got good grades in school.  After 5 years, through scholarships, grants, and working ~20-30/hrs a week, I got my undergraduate degree from a state school with $2500 in debt.

After that, I went on to get my PhD.  There I met Mrs. Dragon (who was in the same PhD program).  As of this writing (2015), we are both in our first year of full-time employment post graduate school.  Each of us make a middle-class income (~$50,000).

Stay tuned to the blog for our successes and failures along the path to FI!

8 thoughts on “About

  1. Hi,

    How do you plan on amassing 600k in 10 years with a 50k household income? I’m not saying it’s not possible, but what will be your strategy?

    Have you posted a blog entry about your current savings/investments?


    • Hi Jake,

      Sorry for the delay in my response. Your comment got sent to the spam filter for some reason. I guess my wording here is a bit ambiguous (I’ve updated it now). My wife and I each make 50k, so our household income is ~100k. Also, I’ve had a side-hustle the past two years that makes ~8k/yr.

      Considering these numbers, as long as we both continue working it should be easy to save 60k+ a year. The issue will be if/when one of us stops working when we decide to start our family, but I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we get there. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Hey Bearded Dragon,

    Can I jump in with a personal question: what is the 600K based upon? Is that the amount you need to get a SWR of 4pct?
    I think you have it right to be mortgage free by the time you want to be FI. That is my goal as well, some 10 years from now (I will be close to 50 then, somehow a late starter).

    Good luck on your journey

    Amber Tree

    • Hey Amber Tree,

      You’ve hit the nail on the head. As you say, we want to be using a safe withdrawal rate of 4%. So, at 600K, that gives us $2000/month in non-mortgage expenses. We feel like the should be enough for us, living where we do. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Hey!! Just stumbled on your blog.. I follow so many its a bit crazy that I don’t have my own… That’s Awesome on the $600k.. I should probably do better math on my end as I already have a $600k portfolio, but I’m tracking along the lines that I need about $1.2M to retire and live off of…

    I don’t a ton of expensive hobbies.. I’m a runner and triathlete and plan to do a lot of traveling and racing trips which will be one of my big expenses… I recently started flying planes which isn’t cheap either, but figure I won’t do that all that often..

    I like following new FIRE folks… cheers!! and good luck..

    • Hey Tim,

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. Everyone’s number is different, so as long as you are comfortable with the math, that’s what’s important.

      I competed in a triathlon once. Just a short sprint, but it was a ton of fun! Flying planes also sounds awesome. Seems like you will have plenty to do if/when you pull the plug on work. Thanks for the well wishes!

  4. Specifically, by February of 2025. Our definition of FI is $600,000 in liquid assets and a paid off house.

    Love the declaration date to reach FI, I’ll make sure to add you soon! Also my definition of FI is having the choice to make decisions about my job and life without money being the major factor. Although 600K and a paid off house works to;)

    • Your definition sounds about right to me! The 600k and paid off house just represent the level of wealth it would take for me to be comfortable taking money out of the equation when making decisions about how to spend my time. But, of course, options and flexibility are the real goal when striving for FI. Cheers!

Leave a Comment